Team including Professors Jane Howe & Doug Perovic Receives NSERC Synergy Award

Prof. Doug Perovic (left) and Prof. Jane Howe (right)

A long-standing collaboration between researchers at U of T Engineering and Hitachi High-Tech Canada (HTC) has been recognized with a Synergy Award for Innovation from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).

The Synergy Awards recognize examples of collaboration that stand as models of effective partnership between industry and colleges or universities. Key principal investigators from U of T Engineering involved in the collaboration include Professors Yu Sun (MIE), Jane Howe (MSE), Tobin Filleter (MIE) and Doug Perovic (MSE).

The roots of the collaboration stretch back decades. More than 30 years ago, Perovic and HTC established a research partnership to develop advanced electron microscopy techniques.

Read full article by Tyler Irving – UofT Engineering News, Nov 17, 2021