Message From the Chair

Hibbard, Glenn D.
Glenn D. Hibbard | Associate Professor & Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies

About the Chair

Professor Glenn Hibbard is the 9th Chair of the Department of Materials Science & Engineering. He was appointed to a three-year term effective July 1, 2019. Hibbard first joined the Department of Materials Science & Engineering in 2004. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2009 and to Full Professor in 2016.

Currently, Prof. Hibbard holds a Canadian Research Chair (Tier 2) in Comparative Multi-Scale Dynamics. His research interests focus on the creation of efficient lightweight structural materials for the automotive and aerospace industries, using hierarchical cellular structures. He also has a continuing interest in the relationship between information theory and the underlying formalisms of materials science and engineering. He has co-authored numerous refereed journal articles and books and has given more than 100 academic talks. Hibbard has also been the recipient of numerous Impact Teaching Awards from the MSE department, and in 2010 was the recipient of the Early Career Teaching Award from the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering.

From 2009 to 2017, professor Hibbard held the position of Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies in MSE. During that time, he led summer student focus groups on curriculum. Subsequently, he was part of the committee that implemented a major curriculum renewal and developed a new outcomes-based approach to CEAB accreditation. A key objective of the renewal was to eliminate gaps and overlaps in knowledge between courses and to take departmental ownership over core course content in order to create a more unified program for our undergraduate students.


Past Chairs / Heads


Doug Perovic, Alex McLean & Jun Nogami sit down for a discussion about dedication, leadership, and change. (Featured in Impact Magazine, Volume II)


2020-2023:Professor Glenn D. Hibbard

2009-2019: Professor Jun Nogami
1997-2008: Professor Doug D. Perovic
1992-1997: Professor Alexander McLean
1981-1992: Professor W. Alfred Miller
1976-1981: Professor James M. Toguri
1969-1976: Professor C. Benjamin Alcock
1943-1969: Professor Lloyd M. Pidgeon
1913-1943: Professor George A. Guess


Appointment with the Chair

T: 416.978.3012 | F: 416.978.4155