Professor Yu Zou Receives the 2022 TMS Early Career Faculty Fellow Award

Yu Zou Headshot


Congratulations to Professor Yu Zou who has received the 2022 TMS Early Career Faculty Fellow Award.

Funded by The Minerals, Metals & Materials (TMS) Foundation, this award recognizes an assistant professor for accomplishments that have advanced the academic institution where employed, and for abilities to broaden the technological profile of TMS.

“It has been more than ten years since I attended my first the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) meeting, as a student, in San Diego, California in 2011”, Said Prof. Zou. “TMS has been my academic home through my different career stages.  Throughout the years, I’ve met international leaders in my research field, attended student mixers and career events, and discussed with peers in poster and oral sessions.”

Dr. Yu Zou joined the MSE Department at U of T as an Assistant Professor in January 2018. Dr. Zou is an emerging leader in additive manufacturing and mechanical behaviour of structural materials. He is currently leading Laboratory for Extreme Mechanics & Additive Manufacturing (LEMAM) in the University of Toronto. His research topics include the design of novel metallic materials, multiscale mechanical testing, metal additive manufacturing (3D printing) and applied machine learning. Zou has authored more than 40 papers, many of which are in top international journals including Nature Communications, Acta Materialia, Nano Letters, Physical Review Materials, etc. As PI, he has been awarded 25 research grants (> $2.5 million in total), including NSERC (Discovery, Engage, CRD, and Alliance), CFI-JEFL, ORF, OCE-VIP, NFRF-Exploration, Mitacs grants and five Seed Funds. Prof. Zou is currently serving as the Chair of the Materials Technical Section in the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM (MetSoc) in Canada. He has been awarded many early career awards, including JMR Early Career Scholars Prize in Materials Research Society (MRS), TMS Young Leaders Professional Development Award, Dean’s Spark Professorship and Connaught New Researcher Award.