Renowned semiconductor researcher inducted into distinguished British institute

Professor Harry Ruda inducted into the Institute of Physics (UK) for significant contributions in the field of semiconductor materials

Ruda, Harry E.

Harry E. Ruda | Professor & Stan Meek Chair in Advanced Nanotechnology

August 9, 2012

Professor Harry E. Ruda of the Department of Materials Science & Engineering (MSE) has been elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FInstP), recognizing his “original and seminal contributions to studies of the electronic phenomena in semiconductor based nanostructures.”

The Institute of Physics (IOP), established in 1874, is a professional society based in the United Kingdom. Its worldwide membership consists of approximately 40,000 physicists from all sectors and works to advance physics research, application and education. The appointment of ‘Fellow’ marks a senior grade of membership for those who have made significant contributions to their profession through work or support of the development and promotion of physics.

“Congratulations to Harry and his group,” says Professor Jun Nogami, Chair of MSE. “This award recognizes this ability to illuminate both new physics and novel applications of semiconductor nanostructures.”

Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC) in 2010, Professor Harry Ruda also holds the Stan Meek Chair in Advanced Nanotechnology at the University of Toronto. He is recognized as an international leader in the synthesis and understanding of the behaviour of semiconductor nanostructures, with seminal contributions dating back to the early 1980s. These contributions are represented in 245 articles in leading journals, nine books, 15 patents, and more than 2,700 citations.

Dr. Ruda is also the founder and Director of the Centre for Advanced Nanotechnology, Canada’s first centre for nanotechnology, which is known internationally for its innovative and leading-edge work on semiconductor nanostructures. He also co-founded the National Centre of Excellence in Photonics, which supports the research of 90 of Canada’s top professors at 20 universities.