Nanomaterials expert and educator inducted into Canadian Academy of Engineering

Professor Uwe Erb honoured for distinguished contributions to engineering in Canada

Erb, Uwe

Professor Uwe Erb, PhD, FCAE

June 27, 2014 

U of T nanomaterials expert and educator, Professor Uwe Erb, is the latest inductee from the Department of Materials Science & Engineering (MSE) into the Canadian Academy of Engineering, a distinction held by some of the most accomplished engineers in Canada. He joins the ranks of other distinguished MSE faculty as Fellow of the CAE (FCAE), including Professors Stavros Argyropoulos, Alex McLean, Doug Perovic, and alumnus Dr. Gino Palumbo.

Professor Erb pioneered the first Canadian initiative on nanostructured materials and co-founded Integran Technologies Inc., the first Canadian nanomaterials spin-off company with alumnus Dr. Gino Palumbo. His research group is the acknowledged world leader in the synthesis, characterization and commercial application of nanostructured materials produced by electrodeposition – a complex process using dissolved metal to coat electrodes. Erb has supervised more than 170 students and visiting scholars. He also initiated and oversees MSE’s youth outreach program “nanOntario: Learning Nanotechnology from Ontario’s Great Outdoors.

Erb joined 13 other members of the U of T Engineering community inducted to the CAE at the Academy’s annual meeting on June 26 in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

“The election of 14 U of T engineers to the Canadian Academy of Engineering is a testament to the excellence of our Faculty and the calibre of our professors and alumni,” said Dean Cristina Amon. “I congratulate the inductees on this prestigious recognition and thank them for further distinguishing U of T Engineering as a world leader.”

One thought on “Nanomaterials expert and educator inducted into Canadian Academy of Engineering

  1. Jennifer Watson

    Dear Dr. Uwe Erb,


    We are hosting the 5th International Conference on Electrochemistry (Electrochemistry 2019) along with external scientific association with the researches, academicians, societies and Pharmaceutical market leaders around the globe, scheduled on May 27-28, 2019 at Barcelona, Spain. Based on your eminence in the field, we would like to invite you for the scientific collaboration with the Electrochemistry 2019 event, and honor you by offering the position of Organizing Committee Member (OCM) for the conference.

    The main theme of the conference is “Influencing the World with relations between Electrical and Chemical Phenomena”

    With your association as an OCM with the Electrochemistry 2019 international conference, we would like to offer a platform for the interactions between experts around the world and aims in accelerating scientific discoveries in the field of Electrochemistry.

    As an Organizing Committee Member; Electrochemistry 2019 is glad to offer you the privileges like:
    • An opportunity to be the keynote/plenary speaker at Electrochemistry 2019 conference
    • An honorable position as the chair/co-chair for the session of your interest
    • An opportunity to launch your Book/Chapter/Research work at the event
    • An opportunity to conduct a workshop/symposia of your University/Lab/Organization at the conference

    For more details about the conference please visit: Electrochemistry 2019

    Let us know about your interest in the same,
    Kindly revert for further queries and Looking forward to hear from you soon,

    Best Regards
    Jennifer Watson| Program Manager
    Electrochemistry 2019
    47 Churchfield Road, London, W3 6AY, UK


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *