MSE Students Recognize Top Educators – 2023 IMPACT Student Choice Awards

Professor Liyang Dai-Hattrick and PhD candidate, JiaHui Zhang, win 2023 MSE Impact Student Choice Awards

Congratulations to Professor Liyang Dai- Hattrick (Instructor, MSE) and teaching assistant, JiaHui Zhang (MSE  PhD Candidate), for receiving the 2023 MSE IMPACT Student Choice Awards.

Prof. Liyang Dai-Hattrick, receives the MSE IMPACT Student Choice Awards 2023, for top MSE instructor of the year (Photo: Dian Yu).

The annual IMPACT Student Choice Awards recognize a MSE undergraduate instructor and teaching assistant as selected by the student body. Named after the Department alumni + industry magazine, IMPACT, the award makes reference to both materials testing and the influential effect of professional dedication and excellence.

PhD candidate, JiaHui Zhang, receives the MSE IMPACT Student Choice Awards 2023, for top TA of the year (Photo: Dian Yu). 

The winners were announced on Feb 3 during this year’s annual MSE Buckyball, the biggest event of the year organized by the MSE students club which took place in the Eglington Grand.


Past recipients—MSE Impact Student Choice Awards

Impact Student Choice Awards — 2022 Winners 

Instructor of the Year: Prof. Scott Ramsay
Teaching Assistant of the Year: Tianyi Lyu

Impact Student Choice Awards — 2021 Winners 

Instructor of the Year: Prof. Gisele Azimi
Teaching Assistant of the Year: Diana Vucevic

Impact Student Choice Awards — 2020 Winners 

Instructor of the Year: Prof. Steven Thorpe
Teaching Assistant of the Year: Long (Kok) Ng

Impact Student Choice Awards — 2019 Winners 

Instructor of the Year: Prof . Kinnor Chattopadhyay
Teaching Assistant of the Year: Jak Li