MSE students name their 2014 instructor and teaching assistant of the year

Professor Glenn Hibbard and PhD candidate Matthew Daly win 2014 MSE Impact Student Choice Awards


Photo L to R: Professor Jun Nogami (Chair), PhD candidate & TA of the Year Matthew Daly, Associate Professor & Instructor of the Year Glenn Hibbard, with MSE Club Chair Abrar M. and Vice-Chair Michael S.

January 27, 2014

“For dedication and excellence in teaching as selected by the undergraduate student body.” —Impact Student Choice Awards

Congratulations to Associate Professor Glenn D. Hibbard (MSE PhD 0T2) and PhD candidate Matthew Daly for being voted the 2014 Materials Science & Engineering (MSE) Impact Student Choice Awards – Instructor and Teaching Assistant (TA) of the Year, respectively. This is the second consecutive year for Daly’s win in the TA category.

Presented on Saturday, January 25, 2014 at The Bucky Ball – the annual MSE undergraduate dinner dance – the Impact Student Choice Awards recognizes a MSE course instructor and teaching assistant for teaching excellence as voted by the undergraduate student body. All course instructors and graduate students who have taught a MSE course for MSE undergraduate students in the previous calendar year are eligible candidates.

During the 2013 calendar year, Associate Professor Glenn Hibbard, who is also the department’s associate chair of undergraduate studies, served as the course instructor for MSE 318 – Phase Transformations, MSE 498 – Design & Research Project, and MSE 550 – Advanced Physical Properties of Structural Nanomaterials. Professor Uwe Erb, who is also currently the department’s Acting Chair and Professor Hibbard’s PhD supervisor, was named the runner-up in the category for his instruction of MSE 342 – Nanomaterials and MSE 459 – Synthesis of Nanostructured Materials.

Daly, a PhD candidate in Assistant Professor Chandra Veer Singh‘s Computational Materials Engineering Laboratory and the current president of the MSE Graduate Student Association (MSEGSA), served as the teaching assistant for Professor Hibbard’s MSE 318 – Phase Transformations course, as well as MSE 351 – Design & Simulation of Materials Processes. The runner up in the TA category was MASc candidate Carmen Nguyen in Professor Zheng-Hong Lu‘s Organic Optoelectronics Research Group for her instruction in MSE 219 – Structure & Characterization of Materials.

“Congratulations to all the awardees this year,” said Uwe Erb, Professor & Acting Chair. “Teaching excellence is not only a critical element in student learning, but serves as an important contributor to the positive student experience our Department is known for.”

Past recipients: MSE Impact Student Choice Awards

Instructor of the Year Teaching Assistant of the Year
2014 Glenn D. Hibbard, Associate Professor Matthew Daly, PhD Candidate
2013 Scott D. Ramsay, Adjunct Professor Matthew Daly, PhD Candidate
Paul Wu, PhD Candidate
2012 Scott D. Ramsay, Adjunct Professor Leo Monaco, PhD Candidate
2011 Zhirui Wang, Professor Leo Monaco, MASc Candidate