MSE student-athletes recognized at the Varsity Blues Academic Excellence award ceremony

U of T Engineering students in attendance at the Academic Excellence Breakfast. (Photo: Seyram Mammadov). Top row (L – R): Anthony Nassif, Tanner Young-Schultz, Osvald Nitski, Jack Berkshire. Bottom row (L – R): Lucia Stafford, Sashini Senarath, Brandon Hadfield, Salma Dessouki, Jae Jin Lee.

Congratulations to Matthew Chen (MSE 1T7, MSE MSc candidate), Eric Deare (Year 3 MSE) and Jae Jin Lee (MSE MSc candidate)!

These MSE students are part of the twenty-three U of T Engineering undergraduate and graduate students recipients of  U of T Engineering Varsity Blues Academic Excellence Awards. The recipients were honoured at the 10th annual Academic Excellence Breakfast, which was held at the Goldring Centre for High-Performance Sport on November 20, 2019.

The ceremony honoured student-athletes who, while competing on a Varsity team, earned an 80% average or higher in all courses they were enrolled in during the 2018-2019 academic year. Each recipient received a pin: enamel for first-time winners, bronze for second, silver for third, gold for fourth and a diamond pin for anyone earning this award five or more times during their intercollegiate career.

The 2018-2019* U of T Engineering Varsity Blues Academic Excellence Award recipients are:

Jack Berkshire (Year 3 IndE) – Track & Field
Matthew Chen (MSE 1T7, MSE MSc candidate) – Rowing
Eric Deare (Year 3 MSE) – Mountain Biking
Salma Dessouki (Year 3 IndE) – Tennis
Zachary Frangos (Year 3 ChemE) – Cross Country
Brandon Hadfield (EngSci 1T9) – Baseball
Cameron Haigh (Year 3 EngSci) – Fencing
Margaret Ho (IBBME PhD candidate) – Fencing
Megan Kamachi (IBBME MSc candidate) – Rowing
James Keane (Year 3 ChemE) – Lacrosse
Brenden Lavoie (Year 3 CivE) – Golf
Jae Jin Lee (MSE MSc candidate) – Soccer
Beston Leung (Year 4 CompE) – Fencing
Anthony Nassif (MechE 1T7, MIE MEng candidate) – Mountain Biking
Osvald Nitski (Year 4 MechE) – Swimming
Aurora Nowicki (Year 2, ElecE) – Softball
Colin O’Brien (MIE PhD candidate) – Mountain Biking
Abdelrahman Said (MechE 1T9) – Water Polo
Sashini Senarath (IBBME MEng candidate) – Badminton
Yusuf Shalaby (MechE 1T8, MIE MSc candidate) – Squash
Lucia Stafford (Year 3 CivE) – Cross Country and Track & Field
Tanner Young-Schultz (CompE 1T8, ECE MSc candidate) – Baseball
Johnathan Zimmerman (Year 2 EngSci) – Fencing

*Students’ years of study and/or graduation dates are currently as of November 2019.

Read the full article about the ceremony  here