Alumnus recognized for distinguished contributions to engineering in Canada

Integran Technologies Inc CEO Dr. Gino Palumbo inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering

Palumbo, Gino

Integran Technologies Inc CEO, Dr. Gino Palumbo

June 2, 2011

Congratulations to alumnus Dr. Gino Palumbo (MMS 8T3, MASc 8T5, PhD 8T9) as one of 10 U of T engineers to be inducted as a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (FCAE) this year. The CAE comprises the country’s most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada and its enterprises. The 10 UofT engineers are among 45 Fellows selected for 2011.

Dr. Palumbo exemplifies an engineer capable of transforming basic scientific research into a world-class enterprise. His company, Integran Technologies Inc., creates nanotechnology applications used in the transformation of metals; it holds the first US patent issued in nanotechnology. Dr. Palumbo has since pioneered the development of low-cost, high-performance materials used in hip and knee implants, ultra-strong and lightweight golf clubs and automotive parts, and many other aerospace and defense applications.

The other nine inductees from UofT Engineering include Professor Elizabeth Edwards (ChemE), along with alumni John Bianchini (ChemE 8T5), Allan Carswell (EngPhys 5T6), Dr. David Colcleugh (ChemE 5T9, MASc 6T0, PhD 6T2), Dr. Anton Davies (MechE 7T2, MASc 7T4, PhD 7T7), Hank Edamura (CivE 6T0), Peter Halsall (CivE 7T7), Dawn Tattle (CivE 8T5) and Thomas Tiedje (EngSci 7T3).

“The election of so many U of T engineers to CAE Fellow is both an honour and a testament to the excellence of the Faculty,” said Cristina Amon, Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering. “The citations for these new Fellows illustrate the exceptional and varied achievements of our faculty and alumni. On behalf of the Faculty, I offer them all my heartiest congratulations.”

Current FCAE faculty members from MSE include:

  • Professor Emeritus Alexander McLean
  • Professor Emeritus O. J. C. Runnalls
  • Professor Stavros A. Argyropoulos
  • Professor Doug D. Perovic
  • Professor Torstein A. Utigard