100 Years of Materials Innovation (1913–2013)

Wednesday, October 23 & Thursday, October 24, 2013


In 1913, Department Eight: Metallurgical Engineering was established in the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering at the University of Toronto.

On October 23 & 24, 2013, the Department of Materials Science & Engineering celebrated its centenary at the University of Toronto. The two-day series of events included the 3rd Annual Winegard Visiting Lectureship in New Materials, featuring Cambridge University’s Royal Society Research Professor Michael F. Ashby as the keynote speaker, as well as a Leadership and a Graduates of the Last Decade (GOLD) panel. The events concluded with a closing gala at Hart House.

Please see commemorative digital assets of the events below.

Historic timeline of the Department

Photos: Flickr Gallery


Profiles: Distinguished Guests


3rd Annual Winegard Visiting Lectureship

Michael F. Ashby
Royal Society Research Professor
Department of Engineering
Cambridge University

Honorary Degree Recipients 2013

Leadership Panel: “Nanotechnology…Revolution or Evolution?”

Moderator: Professor Doug Perovic

Josie Barbato

Graduates of the Last Decade (GOLD) Panel: “Perspectives from the Last 10 Years

Moderator: Professor Glenn Hibbard

Videos: Winegard Visiting Lectureship featuring Professor Michael F. Ashby, Cambridge University

What is Sustainable Technology? A materials perspective for teaching complexity in engineering

October 23, 2013 | Abstract

Why should engineering students care about industrial design?

October 24, 2013 | Abstract

A special thanks to our event sponsors

Gold level

  • CIM MetSoc
  • Hatch
  • Hitachi High-Technologies Canada Inc

Silver level

  • Bereskin & Parr LLP
  • Celestica Inc
  • Electrovaya
  • Integran Technologies Inc
  • Process Research Ortech Inc

MSE100 Steering Committee

Josie Barbato, Alumna
Jun Nogami, Professor & Chair
Glenn Hibbard, Associate Professor
MSE PhD 0T2 (Faculty Co-Chair)
Luke Y. H. Ng, External Relations Officer
(Committee Coordinator & Secretary)
Eva Kosiba, Alumna
Varuna Prakash, Alumna
Betty Lin, Alumna
MSE 0T3, MASc 0T5 (Alumni Co-Chair)
Mary Ruggiero, Alumna
MMS MASc 7T9, PhD 8T3 (Alumni Co-Chair)
Fanny Manousos
Manager, Administration (ex-officio)
Barry Strathdee, Alumnus
MMS 5T5, MASc 5T6, PhD 5T9
Alex McLean, Professor Emeritus
(Faculty Co-Chair)
Jack Young, Alumnus
MMS 7T1, MASc 7T4
Leo Monaco, PhD Candidate